SRCCF presents awards for 2019 school year

Through the generosity of local donors who care deeply about the advanced education of local youth, the Starved Rock Country Community Foundation is honored and pleased to award eight scholarships in 2019.

The Rising Star Scholarship was received by Katie Varland, a graduate of IVCC, who is currently attending Illinois State University. Katie is an art education major and intends to teach at the K-12 grade level. The Scholarship was established by generous local donor, who graduated from ISU, and cherished her career as an elementary education teacher for many years throughout LaSalle County.

The Internet of Things (IoT) Scholarship, presented by B+B SmartWorx, was received by Joey Lewis who graduated from Seneca High School, and will attend the University of Illinois and Kirsten Sibbaluca, a graduate of St. Bede Academy, who will study at the University of Iowa. The scholarship was available to students interested in (IoT), and who will pursue a career in the fields of Science, Engineering and Technology. Joey and Kirsten will be honored on the B+B SmartWorx campus with a staff reception.

The Carol and Dick Janko Scholarship for Promising Entrepreneurs was created specifically for high school graduates who can demonstrate recent studies or work-related activities focused on entrepreneurship. The scholarship reflects Dick and Carol’s lifelong commitment to youth, education, economic development and philanthropy, and offers a significant financial opportunity to the recipient. Scholarships were presented to Bobby Bradish, Ottawa High School, who will attend Illinois State University; Joey Lewis, Seneca High School, who will attend the University of Illinois, and Preston Lewis, a graduate of Mendota High School, who will also attend the University of Illinois. A reception with Carol and Dick Janko will be held in early June at the Holiday Inn, Peru.

Marquette Academy awarded the Tom Tucker Trophy to Jack Snook, who then received the Thomas “Tucker” Tillman Scholarship from the SRCCF. The Scholarship is bestowed to the Marquette Academy award recipient who demonstrates charisma, leadership, and both academic and athletic excellence. This Scholarship was created by Shalanda and Marcos Rabadan to add a financial award to the Marquette Academy honor.

The newest SRCCF scholarship, the MAC-AERO Scholarship for Aeronautics and Aviation, was awarded to Chase Travers of Ransom. Chase attended Dwight Township High School and will attend the State Technical College of Missouri to study Aeronautics. Chase received recognition at the Dwight Senior Awards Night last weekend.

The staff and Board of Directors of the Community Foundation extend their sincere thanks to the donors who made these scholarships possible and their congratulations to the 2019 recipients.

More information about all the SRCCF scholarship opportunities can be found on the SRCCF website,, or by calling the Foundation Office at 815-252-2906.


Recent Posts

See All